Happy New Years/I’m buying LoZ: A Link between Times!

If I had a picture of what my New Years was like, it would be pretty depressing. Instead, I’m wishing you all a Happy New Year! In 120 days I will be back on US soil catching up with old games, new games, new movies, old movies, new comics, old comics, and spending precious time with family. If my new year’s resolution could be anything, it would be to spend more time having fun with my family. I definitely have overlooked going on adventures with my family, so I will spend half of 2014 concentrating on creating memories. 

In other news, I have been looking for a new game to play on my newly purchased 3DS that my lovely wife sent to me. After playing Pokémon nonstop after work, I have decided it is time to experience my 3DS for more than just Pokémon. After lazily browsing the internet, and skimming through YouTube; I have found my calling. The game I have decided to buy is Legend of Zelda: A Link between Worlds. The way I have always operated since becoming a gamer, is to never read a review if the game has already been played and I don’t own it. Of course I can’t avoid reading stuff I see in commercials, but if its been out for awhile and I don’t own it- I don’t read the reviews. This makes the new LoZ a treat for yours truly. I haven’t owned a 3DS since it first came out, so being a recent 3DS owner helped me to realize that I truly missed out on some good games (except Pokémon).

So judging by the trailer, the new LoZ game is based on the world that a Link to the Past was based on. They brought back the old style Link that doesn’t sport the tights and chainmail armor. I’m liking the look, mostly because it reminds me of a happier time in my 16bit childhood. I give Nintendo major kudos for revitalizing the look of Link over the years, but also for honoring the old look of Link. The wall thing that Link does tripped me the fuck out, especially the part where he knocks over a bridge to cross a gap. I can see graffiti artists, or street artists, hitting up “wall Link” on walls…get it? Cuz wall Link…walls…ok. The protagonist looks like someone I really want to kill, so thanks Nintendo. I really got the feeling to smash the face of the bad guy into a moving train by just looking at her..him..it. I’m honestly pretty stoked to have this game sent to me ASAP. I am a little bummed out that I missed out on this game, and didn’t get a chance to get my hands on it earlier. Fuck it, I’m still gonna do a review for the game, because I feel like it’s gonna be so good; it’s gonna need a late review.

Like I said before, Happy New Years to the lot of you, and I really hope you do something with your lives to improve it this year. If you like this blog follow me. If you don’t have a WordPress, you can follow me on twitter @ashezketchum. I’m still pretty much planning what days I will be blogging on which topic, but I’m pretty sure I’ll figure it out when I get back to the states.

I would also like to know what your favorite/least favorite LoZ game. My favorite one was Twilight Princess. Why? Because you transformed into a wolf. What I liked to do when I play TP was listen to “Thriller” and eat my enemies like fucking snausages. Comment below, and let me know what YOUR favorite, or least favorite, LoZ game was.

 

Leave a Reply

